So what’s next?

On Wednesday, 7 May, the History department held its annual Seniors Graduation reception and Awards banquet. Full details on the award winners will be forthcoming, but in the meantime, we wish all our grads success in their next phase of life.


Reminder: Register on-time

Just a friendly reminder for students to register on time. Low-enrolled courses may be cancelled before late-enrollees have an opportunity to sign up. See your History advisor if you have any questions.

This is particularly true for intersession courses, including summer courses. We still have spaces available this summer in:

  • HIS 116 Intro to World Civ (Dr. Davis)
  • HIS 230 Western Civ to 1500 (Dr. Frye)
  • HIS 253 U.S. Environmental History (Dr. Eves).


Congratulations to Miles Wilkerson and Bethany Niebanck for presenting at Eastern’s student research conference this past weekend.

CREATE presenters Bethany Niebanck and Miles Wilkerson

Miles presented “Nunca Olvide: Reframing Historical Discourse on Cuban Exile Terrorism”, while Bethany presented “The Harp, the Stars, and the Dollar: Irish Immigrants and their Motivations for Fighting in the Union Army during the American Civil War.”

NEHA 2015 or bust!

Ian Carey, Kyle Donovan, Melissa Zablonski, and Dr. Roland Clark travelled to Worcester State University on Saturday for the New England Historical Association’s semi-annual conference. Melissa presented a paper entitled “The Pension Widow: Defining the Criteria for Women in the Revolutionary War Pension Process,” which met with enthusiastic acclaim from a large audience. The paper is based on Melissa’s Honors thesis, which she wrote this year under the direction of Prof. Barbara Tucker.

Student attendees at NEHA 2015. From left: Ian Carey, Kyle Donovan, Melissa Zablonski.



Phi Alpha Theta induction dinner

Congratulations to the 2015 inductees of Eastern’s chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the History Honors Society!

Eastern PAT inductees

Front row from left: Quanece Williams, Bethany Niebanck, Sister Kateri Ludick, Annie Chozick, Lauren Grenier.
Back row from left: Kyle Donovan, Morgan Considine, Emily Komornik, Richard Ashley.

Inductees not pictured: Sabreena Croteau, Talia Erris, Hannah Mamaclay, Melissa Ann Rodgers, and Connor Walsh.