Faculty/Office Hours

Adjunct Faculty
Ashley Bissonnette
Suzanne Blancaflor
Lynn Dzinski
Peter Embriano
Rochelle Gimenez
Cathy Kirchhoff
Andre Lowe
Jane Pasini
Barbara Porebska
Teresa Schelhorn
Professor Charles Booth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Cell Structure and Function, Physiological Ecology, Aquatic Biology, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Physiological ecology of aquatic animals
Exercise physiology of crustaceans
(860) 465-5260, Science Building, Room 357
booth@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Professor Gloria Colurso, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Human Physiology, Human Anatomy, Endocrinology
Research Interests: Alzheimer's Disease, Hormones and Stress
(860) 465-5259, Science Building, Room 358
colurso@easternct.edu
 
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Professor Elizabeth Cowles, Ph.D.
(Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Cell Physiology, Entomology
Research Interests: Intracellular Signaling and Toxicology
(860) 465-4385, Science Building, Room 361
cowlese@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Assistant Professor Jason Goldstein, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Ecology and the Environment
Research Interests: Marine Ecology, Lobster Biology and Physiology, Aquaculture and Crustacean Reproduction
(860) 465-4496, Science Building, Room 367
goldstein@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Assistant Professor Matthew Graham, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Invertebrate Biology, Organismal Biology, Parasitology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Biogeography and molecular systematics of terrestrial arthropods
(860) 465-3796, Science Building, Room 366
grahamm@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Assistant Professor Amy Groth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Genetics, Biotechnology, Biology of Cancer, Molecular Genetics
Research Interests: Transcriptional control in C. elegans.
Signaling pathways in development and cancer.
(860) 465-3795, Science Building, Room 354
grotha@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Assistant Professor Joshua Idjadi, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Marine Ecology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Community ecology of coral reefs
Coral species coexistence
Causes and consequences of coral reef decline
(860) 465-0034, Science Building, Room 365
idjadij@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Professor Ross Koning, Ph.D.
(Assistant Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Botany, Plant Physiology, Organismal Biology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Hormonal control of flower development
Genetic aspects of leaf development
(860) 465-5327, Science Building, Room 356
koning@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - - - - -
Assistant Professor Kurt Lucin, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Histology, Organismal Biology, Human Biology
Research Interests: Role of immune cells in nervous system diseases and injuries
Effects of stress on immune system
(860) 465-0493, Science Building, Room 352
lucink@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Assistant Professor W. Brett Mattingly, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Plant Ecology, Biological Invasions, Tropical Biology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Plant community ecology
Invasive species
Restoration ecology
(860) 465-4499, Science Building, Room 364
mattinglyw@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - - - - -
Assistant Professor Barbara Murdoch, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Developmental Biology, Cell Structure and Function, Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
Research Interests: Nervous system development
Molecular regulation of neurogenesis
Antibiotic discovery
(860) 465-5057, Science Building, Room 353
murdochb@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - - - - -
Professor Yaw Nsiah, Ph.D.
(Director of the Health Science Program)
Courses Taught: Virology, Microbiology, Introduction to Public Health, Biotechnology
Research Interests: Development of anti-infectives against bacteria and viruses
Identification of pharmacoactive compounds from tropical plant leaves
(860) 465-4524 or (860) 465-4488, Science Building, Room 362
nsiah@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2015
MTWThF
- - -- - -- - -- - -- - -
Associate Professor Patricia Szczys, Ph.D.
(John C. Hicks Endowed Chair)
Courses Taught: Genetics, Conservation Biology, Population Genetics, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Use of molecular techniques to enrich waterbird conservation
(860) 465-4324, Science Building, Room 363
szczysp@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: NONE
MTWThF
ON SABBATICAL
FALL 2015 SEMESTER
- - -- - -- - -- - -
Mr. Stephen Shimchick, M.S.
Technical Supervisor for the Sciences
Biology Department
Office: (860) 465-4490, Cell: (860) 234-0000
Science Building, Room 308
shimchick@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Summer 2015
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
Mrs. Lisa Kortfelt, M.P.H.
Technical Assistant for the Sciences
Biology Department
Office: (860) 465-0114, Cell: (860) 234-0226
Science Building, Room 308
kortfeltl@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Summer 2015
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
Mrs. Kim Renaud
Secretary II
Biology Department
(860) 465-4369, Science Building, Room 368
renaudk@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Summer 2015
MTWThF
8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm
Mike Adams, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
adams@easternct.edu
Martin Levin, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
levin@easternct.edu
Phillip Elliott, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
elliottp@easternct.edu
Michael Gable, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
gable@easternct.edu
Barry Wulff, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department