Faculty/Office Hours

Adjunct Faculty
David Aguilar-Alvarez
Ashley Bissonnette
Suzanne Blancaflor
James Camp
Lynn Dzinski
Peter Embriano
Rochelle Gimenez
Daniel Johnson
Cathy Kirchhoff
Andre Lowe
Jane Pasini
Barbara Porebska
Teresa Schelhorn
Elizabeth Wade
Professor Mike Adams, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Cell Biology, Molecular Genetics, Research Methods in Molecular Biology
Research Interests: Synthesis of heat-shock proteins in Chlamydomonas
Eukaryotic flagella structure and function
(860) 465-5305, Science Building, Room 355
adams@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
8:00am - 10:00am - - -8:00am - 9:00am8:00am - 9:00am8:00am - 9:00am
Professor Charles Booth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Cell Structure and Function, Physiological Ecology, Aquatic Biology, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Physiological ecology of aquatic animals
Exercise physiology of crustaceans
(860) 465-5260, Science Building, Room 357
booth@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
10:00am - 11:00am9:30am - 10:30am10:00am - 11:00am9:30am - 10:30am10:00am - 11:00am
Professor Gloria Colurso, Ph.D.
(Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Human Physiology, Human Anatomy, Endocrinology
Research Interests: Alzheimer's Disease, Hormones and Stress
(860) 465-5259, Science Building, Room 358
colurso@easternct.edu
 
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
9:00am - 11:00am9:00am - 11:00am- - -- - -9:00am -10:00am
Professor Elizabeth Cowles, Ph.D.
(Assistant Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Cell Physiology, Entomology
Research Interests: Intracellular Signaling and Toxicology
(860) 465-4385, Science Building, Room 361
cowlese@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
8:00am - 9:00am
1:00pm - 2:00pm
- - -10:00am -11:00am- - -10:00am - 12:00pm
Assistant Professor Jason Goldstein, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Environmental Science
Research Interests: Marine Ecology, Lobster Biology and Physiology, Aquaculture and Crustacean Reproduction
(860) 465-4496, Science Building, Room 367
goldstein@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
8:00am - 10:00am8:00am - 10:00am9:00am - 10:00am
12:00pm - 1:00pm
- - -- - -
Assistant Professor Matthew Graham, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Invertebrate Biology, Organismal Biology, Parasitology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Biogeography and molecular systematics of terrestrial arthropods
(860) 465-3796, Science Building, Room 366
grahamm@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
1:00pm - 3:00pm- - -1:00pm - 2:00pm1:00pm - 2:00pm1:00pm - 2:00pm
Assistant Professor Amy Groth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Genetics, Biotechnology, Biology of Cancer, Molecular Genetics
Research Interests: Transcriptional control in C. elegans.
Signaling pathways in development and cancer.
(860) 465-3795, Science Building, Room 354
grotha@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
10:00am - 11:00am- - -2:00pm - 5:00pm- - -10:00am - 11:00am
Assistant Professor Joshua Idjadi, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Marine Ecology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Community ecology of coral reefs
Coral species coexistence
Causes and consequences of coral reef decline
(860) 465-0034, Science Building, Room 365
idjadij@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
11:00am - 12:00pm9:00am - 11:00am11:00am - 12:00pm- - -11:00am - 12:00pm
Professor Ross Koning, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Botany, Plant Physiology, Organismal Biology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Hormonal control of flower development
Genetic aspects of leaf development
(860) 465-5327, Science Building, Room 356
koning@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
10:00am - 12:00pm- - -10:00am - 12:00pm- - - 10:00am - 12:00pm
Assistant Professor Kurt Lucin, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Histology, Organismal Biology and Human Biology
Research Interests: Role of immune cells in nervous system diseases and injuries
Effects of stress on immune system
(860) 465-0493, Science Building, Room 352
lucink@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
1:00pm - 3:00pm- - - - - -2:00pm - 3:00pm12:00pm - 2:00pm
Assistant Professor W. Brett Mattingly, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Plant Ecology, Biological Invasions, Tropical Biology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Plant community ecology
Invasive species
Restoration ecology
(860) 465-4499, Science Building, Room 364
mattinglyw@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
11:00am - 12:00pm
1:00pm - 2:00pm
- - -11:00am - 12:00pm
1:00pm - 2:00pm
- - - 11:00am - 12:00pm
Assistant Professor Barbara Murdoch, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Developmental Biology, Cell Structure and Function, Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
Research Interests: Nervous system development
Molecular regulation of neurogenesis
Antibiotic discovery
(860) 465-5057, Science Building, Room 353
murdochb@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
2:00pm - 4:00pm11:00am - 1:00pm- - -- - - 10:00am - 11:00am
Professor Yaw Nsiah, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Virology, Microbiology, Introduction to Public Health, Biotechnology
Research Interests: Development of anti-infectives against bacteria and viruses
Identification of pharmacoactive compounds from tropical plant leaves
(860) 465-4524 or (860) 465-4488, Science Building, Room 362
nsiah@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
2:00pm - 3:00pm11:00am - 12:00pm1:00pm - 2:00pm8:00am - 9:00am12:00pm - 1:00pm
Associate Professor Patricia Szczys, Ph.D.
(John C. Hicks Endowed Chair)
Courses Taught: Genetics, Conservation Biology, Population Genetics, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Use of molecular techniques to enrich waterbird conservation
(860) 465-4324, Science Building, Room 363
szczysp@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
10:00am - 12:00pm
2:00pm - 3:00pm
- - -11:00am - 12:00pm- - -10:00am - 11:00am
Mr. Stephen Shimchick
Technical Supervisor for the Sciences
Biology Department
Office: (860) 465-4490, Cell: (860) 234-0000
Science Building, Room 308
shimchick@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
Mrs. Lisa Kortfelt
Technical Assistant for the Sciences
Biology Department
Office: (860) 465-0114, Cell: (860) 234-0226
Science Building, Room 308
kortfeltl@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
Mrs. Kim Renaud
Secretary II
Biology Department
(860) 465-4369, Science Building, Room 368
renaudk@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2014
MTWThF
8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm
Phillip Elliott, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
elliottp@easternct.edu
Michael Gable, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
gable@easternct.edu
William Jahoda, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
Barry Wulff, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department

Comments Off

Comments are closed.